Home > Product Reviews > Audible iPhone App upgrade to iOS5

Audible iPhone App upgrade to iOS5

I recently upgraded my iPhone 3GS to iOS5 and wondered if my Audible stats such as badges and total listening time would be copied over when restored. I really like the app and hoped that I could continue to track my reading time.

The answer is: yes, but you must create a backup (or have a current backup) of your iPhone, iPad, or iTouch device first. After iOS5 is installed, you will restore your apps from the backup. All of my statistics and badges returned without any issue.

The only issue I encountered was that some (all?) of my downloaded audio files were corrupted or unavailable. In Audible’s FAQ, there is a message that some customers were receiving an error message, “Error playing title”:

This is because the storage location of downloaded audiobooks has changed in order to fulfill Apple’s iCloud requirements.  To recover from this error, please go to App Settings menu, then tap “Refresh Complete Library”. Once your library has refreshed completely, please re-download the titles you were listening to and playback should work again.”

I did lose my location in my book, but everything else worked correctly.

All in all, this was a minor inconvenience compared to the rather painful upgrade itself.

Categories: Product Reviews
  1. David Glanville
    July 27, 2012 at 10:58 am

    This has happened to me repeatedly now. It is getting rather frustrating as I am on the go quite often, and, when at home, my connection is slow. It is turning into a major issue. There must be a more permanent fix, or some kind of update is due soon.

    • michaelldennis
      July 27, 2012 at 2:06 pm

      David, here’s a thought.

      I’ve had some additional issues with the app recently, where I am getting errors that were forcing me to reload the title. The title would just stop– usually if I had moved to a different app, perhaps changing to a different screen like the chapters or stats screens. It would give me a message to reload the title and grudgingly I would do so.

      Found a workaround that seems to be working for me. Completely consistent to date.

      So, when this happens, I go to the screen with the controls for the title and I hit the “back 30 seconds” button. If I then hit Play, the title will continue to play normally.

      It seems like a bug, but (shamefully) I haven’t submitted it to Amazon, nor my solution.

      Give this a shot and see if it works.

      Best regards.
      Mike

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

