Home > Book Reviews > Facebook Meme: 10 Books

Facebook Meme: 10 Books

About a month ago, a Facebook meme was spreading:

In your status line, list 10 books that have stayed with you in some way. Don’t take more than a few minutes and don’t think too hard – they don’t have to be ‘right’ or ‘great’ works, just the ones that have touched you. Tag 10 friends, including me, so I’ll see your list.

Below are the books that I listed quickly, with a comment or two on each one.
1. Dune by Frank Herbert

I have re-read the book and listened to audio readings dozens and dozens of times.  I find that it is extremely deep and I discover something new each time I read it.

2. Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin

Incredibly detailed world building.  Gradations of morality for each character.  Have no idea whether a character will live or die.

3. From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg .  My review here.

I intensely remember some of the scenes in this book.  I re-read the book recently just because of this meme.

4. The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien

Incredible world building.  Moving, lyrical passages.  Depth of story.  In my opinion, better than LOTR.

5. Deryni novels by Katherine Kurtz

I was fascinated by the alternate world created by the author.  Also, probably some wish-fulfillment to have some of the Deryni powers.

6. The Rise of Theodore Roosevelt by Edmund Morris.  My review here.

The descriptions of Teddy Roosevelt’s early life and his drive were inspiring.

7. Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

One of the first books I can recall ever weeping over.  Intense, wracking tears.

8. Six Wives of Henry VIII by Alison Weir.  My review here.

The book that first interested me in the Tudor dynasty.  Also remember reading it in the hospital while awaiting results for my mother-in-law.

9. The Boxcar Children by Gertrude Chandler Warner

Wonder at the ingenuity of the kids.  Great ending.

10. Beneath the Wheel by Hermann Hesse

Powerful book.  The main character burns himself out through intellectual studies.

and one more since I thought of it just as I was posting — Decision at Doona by Anne McCaffrey

One of the first science-fiction books I read — given to me by a very important junior high school teacher.

Categories: Book Reviews
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

